About NC811

OUR MISSION

To promote damage prevention and safe digging through communication of excavation activities and to educate facility operators, excavators and the general public.

WHO WE ARE

North Carolina 811, is a non-profit organization funded by its member facilities. We take locate information from anyone engaged in excavation activities.  An excavator may include contractors, utilities, and homeowners.  The information about proposed excavation is transmitted to the member facility owners that provide service in the requested excavation area. We have a variety of member facility owners including utilities, municipalities, universities, and homeowner’s associations. Member facilities have three full working days, starting at 11:59 pm the day the notice is given, to mark the locate area requested for their underground utilities or notify the excavator of no conflict in that area.

North Carolina 811 does not identify or locate facilities or utility easements.  North Carolina 811’s role is to notify the facility operators of the proposed excavation and to send positive response information.  We also maintain records, as required by the statute.

The 811 service is free of charge to all excavators.  North Carolina 811 also takes requests from those persons who do not plan to excavate but wish to find out what utilities are in a particular area. These types of requests are referred to as Survey/Design locate requests and they require a 10 business day notice.
 
North Carolina 811 provides a toll free number, 1-800-632-4949, that can be reached from anywhere in the continental United States or you may dial 811 within North Carolina.  North Carolina 811 does not mark utility lines; we do provide an easy communication link between excavators and utility owners.

MANAGEMENT TEAM

LOUIS PANZER
Executive Director
louis@nc811.org

STEPHANIE BROWN
Operations Manager
stephanie@nc811.org

ANGELA ASHBURN
Center Operation Manager
angela@nc811.org

TAMMY HEWITT
Center Operation Manager
tammy@nc811.org

ANN RUSHING
Education Manager
annrushing@nc811.org

LESLEY BROUILLARD
Member Services Manager
lesley@nc811.org

WENDY BULLINS-FISHER
Remote Ticket Entry Manager​
wendy@nc811.org

SONIA LEVEL
Accounting Manager
sonia@nc811.org

CHRISTOPHER CREED
IT Manager
christopher@nc811.org

STAFF

Tonya Hargraves – Administrative Support
tonya@nc811.org

Virginia Kanakanui – Administrative Support
virginia@nc811.org

Marshall Dean – Member Services Facilitator
marshall@nc811.org

Donna Jones – Member Services Facilitator
donna@nc811.org

​Jennifer Penland – Member Services Facilitator
jpenland@nc811.org

Dana Stamey – Member Services Facilitator
​dstamey@nc811.org

Chuck Hager – Member Services Facilitator
chager@nc811.org

Steven Moore – Media Relations Specialist
smoore@nc811.org

Howard Corey – Education Liaison
howard@nc811.org

Tami Stout – Education Liaison
tami@nc811.org​​

Brian Morehouse – Education Liaison
​bmorehouse@nc811.org

Parrish Reddick – Education Liaison
​parrish@nc811.org​

Daune Ashburn – Remote Ticket Entry Technician
dashburn@nc811.org

Michelle Jones – Remote Ticket Entry Technician
mjones@nc811.org

​Stacey Kinlaw – Remote Ticket Entry Technician
skinlaw@nc811.org

Sarah Gerometta – Remote Ticket Entry Technician
rgerometta@nc811.org

BOARD OF DIRECTORS INFO


Meeting Schedule

4Q20 Board Meeting & Annual Meeting of Members
Meeting virtually on January 22 at 8:30 AM

For booking information, contact Tonya Hargraves:
tonya@nc811.org

EMPLOYMENT

Currently, we are not actively looking to fill any positions, but if you would like you may fill out an application for our call center in Greensboro. If a position becomes available we will contact you.

CONTACT NC811

Review our FAQ page which covers a wide variety of topics for excavators and utilities.


Please Note:
NC law requires anyone engaging in excavation or demolition activities to contact NC811 at least three working days prior to starting the work. NC811 will then notify the member facility owners within your area of excavation or demolition. The member facility owner has three working days to provide a response and to mark any underground facilities that may be in conflict with the work area. Only publicly owned lines will be marked by the facility owner. NC811 is a non-profit organization fully funded by the member facility owners and managed by a board of directors. NC811 is not a government agency.​

Who would you like to contact?


Did you recently contact North Carolina 811 to request a locate of underground utilities?
Let us know how your experience was.

HOURS OF OPERATION

Monday – Friday 7:00 am to 7:00 pm open for all
locate requests (excluding holidays)
Emergency locates run from 7:00 pm – 6:59 am
Saturday & Sunday – Emergency locate requests only
Note: North Carolina 811 is a 24 hours a day,
7 day a week operation.
Someone is always available to take an emergency locate request.

Main Office Number: 336-855-5760
Main Office Fax Number: 336-299-1914
Secondary Fax Line: 336-294-3623

PUBLIC FILINGS